Diwali 2023 Date: When is Diwali? All the information you require about the five-day festival of lights

Diwali 2023 Date: When is Diwali? All the information you require about the five-day festival of lights


Diwali 2023:

Festival of Lights Diwali is an annual festival in the month of October or November. Check out all about the 5 day Hindu ritual and its significance.

Diwali 2023: Diwali also known as Diwali, Diwali or Deepavali is a socio-cultural festival. The word is derived from the Sanskrit words dipa, “lamp, light, lantern, candle, that which shines, shines, gives illumination or knowledge” and avali, “a line, boundary, continuous line, series”. It is associated with various religious events, deities and personalities, But it is popularly celebrated as the return of Ram to his kingdom Ayodhya after 14 years of exile. It is also widely associated with Lakshmi, the goddess of prosperity, and Ganesha, the god of wisdom and remover of obstacles.

Diwali, a five-day festival originating in the Indian subcontinent, is known as Jain Diwali, Bandi Chhor Diwas, Tihar, Sowanti, Sohrai, Bandana etc. in different countries and religions. However, irrespective of the name the significance of the festival remains the same, i.e. “the triumph of knowledge over ignorance, good over evil, and light over darkness.”

When is Diwali in 2023?

Diwali is a five-day festival celebrated in the Hindu lunisolar months Ashwin and Kartika (mid-October to mid-November). The ancient calendar states that Diwali is celebrated every year on Amavasya or the fifteenth day of the month of Kartik. This year the festival of lights will fall on Sunday, 12 November 2023.

About all 5 days of Diwali


In most regions of India Dhanteras, which is derived from the words Dhan, meaning wealth, and Teras, meaning thirteenth, marks the day of the dark fortnight of Ashwin or Kartik. The name of the day is also an allusion to Dhanvantari, the god of wealth and medicine, the god of health and healing, who is believed to have appeared as Lakshmi from the “Monastery of the Cosmic Ocean” on the same day. It also represents annual rejuvenation, purification and the auspicious beginning of the next year.

Chhoti Diwali:

The second day of celebration includes Naraka Chaturdashi, commonly called Chhoti Diwali, which falls on the fourteenth day of the dark fortnight of Ashwin or Kartik. Chhoti means small, Naraka means hell, and Chaturdashi means “fourteenth” respectively. According to mythology, this happy day is associated with the defeat of the demon Narakasura by Krishna, who had abducted 16,000 princesses.


The biggest celebration takes place on the last day of Krishna Paksha of Ashwin or Kartik. Diwali is also known as the “Festival of Lights” as it marks the lighting of Hindu, Jain and Sikh temples and homes. It symbolizes the “cleansing, purifying action of monsoon rains.”

Christmas 2023: When is Christmas?

Govardhan Puja:

The next day of Diwali is the first day of Kartik Shukla Paksha. In some parts of the world it is also celebrated as Annakoot (heap of grains), Padwa, Govardhan Puja, Bali Pratipada, Bali Padyami and Kartik Shukla Pratipada. According to the most famous folklore, the Hindu god Krishna raised Mount Govardhan to protect farming and cow-herding villages from incessant rains and floods caused by the wrath of Indra.

Bhai Dooj:

The last day of the festival, which falls on the second day of Shukla Paksha of Kartik, is known as Bhai Dooj, Bhau Beej, Bhai Tilak or Bhai Phonta. Basically similar to Raksha Bandhan, it honors the sister-brother bond. Some see this happy day as a sign of Yama’s sister Yamuna welcoming Yama by applying tilak, while others see it as Krishna’s entry into Subhadra’s house after the defeat of Narakasura. Subhadra also welcomed him by applying tilak on his forehead.

Diwali 2023 dates in United States

There are about 40 lakh Indians in the American population. And the Indian diaspora leaves no stone unturned to make the most of Diwali celebrations. Some of the major cities in the US and other countries that celebrate Diwali are New York City, Los Angeles, Chicago, San Francisco, Houston, Washington DC, Boston, Philadelphia, Detroit, Miami, Atlanta, Dallas, Seattle, Phoenix, Minneapolis, Denver, Las Vegas, Nevada, and Los Angeles. Vegas, Orlando, Charlotte, Northern Virginia, Tampa Bay, Austin and recently added Pennsylvania.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *